Parmesan Rosemary Pinwheels

Nicely Browned Tops

  • 1 can (8oz) Refrigerated Crescent Dinner Rolls
  • 1/2 cup regular cream cheese spread
  • 1/4 cup (1oz) grated fresh Parmesan cheese
  • 4 t snipped fresh rosemary or 1 t Pantry Rosemary Herb Seasoning Mix

1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Separate dough into four rectangles on cutting board. Press seams to seal.

2. Place cream cheese in small bowl. Grate Parmesan cheese over bowl. Snip rosemary and add to cheese mixture. Mix well. Spread each rectangle with about 2 tablespoons cheese mixture to within 1/4 inch of edges.

3. Starting at short side, roll up each rectangle. Pinch edges to seal. Cut each roll crosswise into six slices for a total of 24 slices. Place on large baking stone. Bake 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.

Yield: 24 pinwheels

From The Pampered Chef: Season’s Best Recipe Collection Fall/Winter 2003, (Picked by Katie)

Notes: The recipe originally had all sorts of brand names since it is a Pampered Chef cookbook. I edited that out as it did not matter for the making of the recipe. I baked on cookie sheets because I forgot to take the stone out of the oven before preheating and I didn’t want to put the pinwheels on a hot stone. If you use cookie sheets, spray the pan! Mine stuck a little bit. I only cooked them 10 mins and the bottoms were a little too done. So use a stone if possible! I used fresh rosemary, pulled the needles off the stem and then chopped them fairly finely.

Katie: I have always wanted to make pinwheels. They always look so elegant at parties. These were pretty easy to make and really did turn out nice on top. I was disappointed that the bottoms got too done, but trying recipes is how you find out these things! I think if I made pinwheels again that I would try a different filling in them. Even though this one was good, it wasn’t really what I was expecting. However, they were still very tasty!

Gray:  Ok, so my comments are a little delayed, since I had to work till midnight while Katie was making these…   Pros, they are pretty.  Cons, they taste like pine trees…  Rosemary overpowers theses a lot.  I agree with Katie that another filling would be better.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

