Hungarian Goulash with Spatzle

Hungarian Goulash

Goulash

  • 1.5 lbs boneless chuck roast or stew meat
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 4 slices bacon
  • 1.5 cups chopped onion
  • 1 T paprika
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/4 t ground pepper
  • 1/4 t marjoram
  • 1/4 cup chopped green pepper
  • 3/4 cup dry white wine

Cut meat into small pieces, about 1/2 inch, like the Hungarians do. Set aside. Dice bacon and cook in a 3-quart Dutch oven until crisp. With slotted spoon, remove bacon. Cook onions in drippings until transparent. Remove with slotted spoon. Add the meat and brown. Sprinkle the spices over the meat, add the bacon, onions, green pepper, beef broth, and wine. Bring to a boil and then simmer for about 2 hours. Thicken with 1/2 cup water and 1/4 cup flour.  Bring back up to a boil to help thicken, then serve with spatzle.

Spatzle

Spatzle

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup water
  • 2.5 cups sifted flour
  • 2 quarts boiling water
  • salt

Beat eggs with water and salt. Gradually add flour. Batter should be thick and sticky and break from a spoon. Spoon batter into boiling water by 1/2 teaspoonfuls, dipping spoon into water each time. Cook one layer of noodles at a time. After noodles rise to the surface, boil gently for about 5 minutes. Remove with slotted spoon to warm bowl and toss gently with a little butter.

Yield: 4-6 servings

From: Cooking in Harmony, Opus II

Notes first on this recipe. I made a few changes on the goulash as I made it. I drained the grease from the beef after browning it before I added everything else back into the pot. I added the green peppers with the onions when the onions were almost done cooking in the bacon grease. I strained the flour/water mixture so it didn’t get lumps in the goulash. Lastly, I substituted a slightly smaller amount of oregano for the marjoram because we didn’t have any in the pantry. Also, the bacon popped a lot in the pan (and on me, ouch!), so I would cook that on a low or med-low heat instead of medium as I had it. I decided to prep everything before starting the recipe on this one, and I really enjoyed not having to run to the pantry or chop something in the middle of cooking.

On to the spatzle. Spooning the dough into the water didn’t work at all. I took a gallon size ziploc bag and put all the dough in it. Then I cut a small hole in one of the bottom corners, being careful not to spill out the dough. I gathered it up like an icing bag and squeezed the dough through the hole into the water so that it came out in noodle-like lengths. (Sort of like how funnel cakes are made.) It cooked up nicely and I used a bigger pot with more water so I could do it in 2-3 batches.

So our goulash was too salty. The original recipe said 1 Tablespoon of salt instead of 1 teaspoon. Way too much salt! It is such a shame because the flavors are delectable and the salt is overwhelming. I think we will be able to eat it, but wow there’s a lot of salt in there. (Hindsight being 20/20, I should have realized it was a typo…) The spatzle was tasty, but wasn’t anything special. We think that you could just eat the goulash with regular noodles or rice if you didn’t want to go to the trouble of making the spatzle.

I really can’t get over how good the flavors were in the goulash. I feel sure that I will make this many more times in the future. (with the correct amount of salt!) I think this is my favorite one so far on our blog. The recipe is now marked with a bright pink sticky note! As a side note, poor Gray is sick and said the salt was extremely pronounced to him! 😦

This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

