Peanut Butter Pie

  • 9-inch graham cracker crust
  • 8oz. softened cream cheese
  • 1c. 10x powdered sugar
  • 1/2 c. peanut butter
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3c whipped topping
  • 1/4c chopped peanuts

Beat cream cheese, adding sugar until smooth. Add Peanut butter. Stir in milk and vanilla. Fold in whipped topping.  Pour in crust and add peanuts on top.  Freeze for 4 hours.  Let sit out 20 minutes before cutting.

Yield: 12-16 slices (the way we made it with two crusts)

From Cooking With the Cavaliers

This is from the same cookbook as the Brunswick stew, but I (Gray) couldn’t decide between this and the stew when I was picking, so I had to cheat and make both…  This is fantastic, but very rich.  There are 4 recipes in the cookbook for this pie, and all are very similar.  2 call for using 1 pie crust and 2 call for using 2 pie crusts.  I bought 2 just in case (1 chocolate and 1 graham cracker) and ended up using both, although you can make this using 1 and really heap it up.  I will definitely make this again, so I may try it that way and see how it turns out.

I also didn’t buy chopped peanuts.  I bought a can of unsalted peanuts and then measured out 1/4 cups and put them in a baggie and crushed them with my tenderizer mallet. I’m sure you could use salted nuts if you have some around, but the pantry was bare, so that’s what I got.

Another thing I really enjoyed about this recipe was the fact that I got to use our stand mixer.  I don’t use it that often, but it brings back childhood memories when I do.

This entry was posted in Desserts, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

