Devon Steaks

  • 3 lbs round steak cut 1″ thick
  • 1 clove garlic cut in half
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 1/2 t salt
  • 1 T paprika
  • 1 cup sliced onion
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup fat
  • 1/2 cup hot water
  • 1 cup sour cream
  1. Cut meat into 8 serving pieces.
  2. Rub each piece with cut side of garlic.
  3. Mix flour, salt, & paprika together, pound into meat.
  4. Brown onions, mushrooms in fat in heavy fry pan;  add meat;  brown on both sides.
  5. Add water; cover; cook over low heat 40-45 minutes or until meat is tender; add more water if necessary.
  6. Pour sour cream over meat; re-cover; simmer 10 minutes longer.
  7. Eight Servings.

From Cutco Cook Book © 1961 (to give you a frame of reference for this recipe)

Note: We used canola oil instead of “fat.”

This was an interesting recipe.   I chose it because I have always liked how these older cookbooks utilize different methods and flavor combinations.  They also remind me of cooking in my grandparents’ kitchen and inspire nostalgia.  The recipe was OK, but given the ingredient cost, I think I could have come up with something better.

This uses braising to produce a somewhat tender steak with a good pan sauce and flavor.  A lot of the recipes utilize braising because they come from a time when it was a good technique to get a tender result from a less than optimal cut.  It was also a time when most people ate all their meat well-done, and the great depression was a fresh memory for most folks.  Cooking this dish made me really appreciate the variety of fresh ingredients and cooking styles that we have around now.

I’m glad to have tried this recipe.  Would I cook it again? Probably not.  For the same ingredient cost, I could have grilled some sirloin steaks and sautéed mushrooms and onions with a nice pan sauce or gravy. On another note, I’m happy that I finally made something out of this cookbook, but it is probably going to leave the bookshelf now.

Katie: I really can’t believe he refers to the steaks as “somewhat tender.” That’s a super nice way to refer to the fairly tough, well done steaks that resulted from this recipe. To be fair, I don’t think they were 1″ thick, so I’m sure that affected the end result, and they really weren’t quite the cut of steak that the cookbook called for. (The cookbook called for many cuts of meat that aren’t available today.)

Anyway, the flavor was pretty good, even though they were more done than I prefer. However, I think they are pretty high in calories for something that I don’t love. I’d rather have a nice grilled steak, medium done-ness, and it doesn’t even have to have a sauce. We did have my grandmother’s Hot Buttered Potatoes and a nice spinach salad with homemade ranch dressing to go with the steaks, though, so that was very nice! I was pleased with how the potatoes turned out, as they are one of those things that I don’t have a recipe for and just try to duplicate what I saw my grandmother do.

Heres a picture of the inside front cover of the cookbook, so you can get a feel for what it is like!

This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

