Jerk Chicken

  • 2 oz. habanero peppers finely chopped
  • 1 bunch of scallions finely chopped with most of the greens trimmed
  • 5 cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 1 oz. of Tyme finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 tbsp. of white wine
  • 2 tbsps. soy sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp. of allspice
  • 1/2 tbsp. minced ginger
  • 1/4 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp. of sea salt

Blend all of the ingredients until smooth. Marinate the chicken in the jerk sauce for at least 12 hours before roasting or grilling. Cook over indirect heat on a charcoal or gas grill for approx. 1 to 1 1/2 hours or until chicken reaches an internal temp. of 165 degrees.

Gray: This recipe is from my buddy, Richard.  He is a great cook and always bringing me neat ideas.  This was a great recipe, although I cheated a little bit.  I had a leftover orange, so I juiced it into the marinade, also I only marinaded the meat for around 5-6 hours.  I halved the marinade, and it was enough for 3 very large chicken breasts and 4 thighs.  Halving it may have cut down the heat, but I liked that it was flavorful and had a little kick without being super spicy.  All in all it turned out fantastically.  I have been wanting to try this and I was not disappointed.

Katie: You know, I have only tried jerk chicken once in the past, and did not want to repeat the experience because I was unable to eat it due to the spiciness. However, Gray was so excited to try this recipe, that I said I’d give it a go! I didn’t think it was very spicy at all  and was very pleased with the outcome! It was a great way to make grilled chicken and makes for a change from our normal routine.

This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Reader Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jerk Chicken

  1. Pingback: Our Favorite Recipes: 2011 | A New Recipe Each Week

Leave a Reply

