Pizzaria Uno Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza

Gray: I wanted to share this link and some pictures as an extra post for this week.  I have been wanting to attempt deep dish pizza again.  The first time I tried it, I used pizza dough from a can…  That was a BIG mistake.  This time I made the dough from scratch, plus I used a few things I learned studying on the internet and reading about making the pizza, and it was a success!

Here are the tricks I found to help me out:  1: Use the whole canned tomatoes, drain them and then crush them, then drain them some more.  They should look very chunky.  2: Some recipes call for raw sausage in the bottom, but I found it worked better cooking it (less greasy, less liquid). 3:  Take the time to make your own crust.  I made this in a 9″ spring form pan, and had enough to make 2 pizzas so we froze 1/2 of the dough to use later.  The better taste is worth the effort.

Since the recipe is from another site, I am just going to link to them to share:

Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza

Katie: This turned out awesome! Much better than Gray’s last efforts, so the research was well worth it. The only negative would be that the crust on the sides was a little too thick, so we would recommend making that pretty thin so as not to have this problem. Other than that, it was awesome! The whole, Italian-style tomatoes really make the pizza. (Not to mention the Italian sausage…) We can’t wait to make it again!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Extras!, Main Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pizzaria Uno Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza

  1. I would love to try a piece! lol I guess I will have to make my own…

  2. hinsone says:

    I’ve never had a strong desire for deep dish pizza, but that looks REALLY good.

  3. @lunchandsandwichideas: If you try the recipe, let us know how it turns out!
    @hinsone: Deep dish pizza hasn’t been something I crave either, but this one was awesome! I think Gray’s pizza was better than ones I’ve had in restaurants. But I haven’t tried it in Chicago yet! Maybe soon!

  4. lajf2012 says:

    It’s looks delicious…:)…

Leave a Reply

