Beef Broccoli Wellington & Broccoli Casserole

Beef Broccoli Wellington

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 10 oz frozen chopped broccoli, microwaved per package directions
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 cup shredded Mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 2 cans crescent rolls
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • poppy seeds

Brown and drain beef. Add remaining ingredients except egg and poppy seeds and simmer 10-15 minutes. Let cool. Unroll crescent rolls across greased sheet pan. Slightly overlap edges in center. Spread mixture down middle. Fold rolls over mixture. Pinch together. Brush with egg. Sprinkle with poppy seeds. Bake at 375 for 25-30 minutes.

Broccoli Casserole

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 T butter
  • 1 package frozen chopped broccoli, cooked and drained
  • 1 cup uncooked rice
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3/4-1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • salt and pepper to taste

Saute onion in the butter. Cook rice and broccoli according to packages. Reserve about 1/4 cup cheese. Mix all other ingredients together and put in greased square baking dish. Top with reserved cheese. Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes.

From Cooking with the Cavaliers, Favorite recipes from the 1995-1996 East Burke High School Band (Katie’s high school band)

Katie: Both of these recipes were great! I ended up using filo dough instead of the crescent rolls and making two wellington logs for the first recipe. We had filo dough in the freezer leftover from something else and I wanted to use it up. Plus, we had just seen one of our favorite cooking shows doing a recipe with beef rolled in filo dough, so we figured it couldn’t be bad, right? Well, it was great! Be sure if you use filo dough to brush melted butter between the layers. It makes all the difference. I forgot about the poppy seeds, but I don’t think it needed them. The only thing I would have changed about the Beef Wellington is that both Gray and I thought it would taste a bit better with more sour cream.

The typed recipe for the Broccoli Casserole is not how it is printed in the cookbook. There is a story behind how we modified this one. My sister-in-law is famous in our family for the broccoli casserole she brings to family gatherings. One time I asked her if she would give me her recipe because it is just so good and we love it. She said, “Oh, it’s from the Cooking with the Cavaliers cookbook. Don’t you have one too? I think your mom gave us ours.” Of course, I have the cookbook! I couldn’t believe the recipe was in a cookbook I had all along. She told me it was the first broccoli casserole in the vegetable section. I looked it up when I got home, and the first recipe had cheese whiz as an ingredient. I asked my sister-in-law about this, and she said they had never bought cheese whiz and she always used  shredded cheddar. I tried making the recipe just as printed with the exception of the cheese. The rice was hard and it did not taste good! We inquired again and found out that she also cooked the rice first! Big difference. We finally got around to trying it again, and this time we figured out she used more cheese and added salt and pepper. So the recipe you see has been modified to what we actually make, and not what is printed in the cookbook! As written above, it is an awesome recipe and one we plan on making more often!

Gray:  Both of the recipes were quite good, and they went well together.  I think I would experiment with other beef wellington recipes before I tried this one again, but I will definitely be keeping my eyes open for some more ideas.  The broccoli casserole has always been a favorite, and we are trying to make it live up to our expectations.  All in all, I think this was a success.

This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Side Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beef Broccoli Wellington & Broccoli Casserole

  1. IamSimplyTia says:

    Well done. It looks quite delicious and hearty!

Leave a Reply

