Garden Ranch Pizza

  • 2 packages (10 oz each) refrigerated pizza crust
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 package (1 oz) ranch seasoning and salad dressing mix (2 T)
  • 1 garlic clove, pressed
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese, divided
  • 1 cup chopped broccoli
  • 1/2 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 1 medium carrot
  • 1/2 cup pitted ripe olives, sliced
  • 1/4 cup grated fresh Parmesan cheese

1. Preheat oven to 425°. Unroll both packages of pizza dough and arrange side by side on a large round pizza stone, shaping into a circle. Roll dough to edge of baking stone, pressing seams to seal.

2. Combine mayonnaise, ranch seasoning mix, and pressed garlic. Mix well. Spread mixture evenly over crust to within 1/2 inch in edge. Top with half of the mozzarella cheese.

3. Chop broccoli. Dice bell pepper. Slice carrots (crinkle cut if desired). Slice olives. Sprinkle broccoli, bell pepper, carrot, and olives over pizza. Top with remaining mozzarella cheese. Grate Parmesan cheese over pizza.

4. Bake 18-22 minutes or until edges are golden brown. Remove from oven and let stand 10 minutes. Cut into wedges and serve.

Yield: 16 servings

From The Pampered Chef, Season’s Best Recipe Collection, Fall/Winter 2003 (Yes, I left out all the “mix in Classic Batter Bowl” lines so the recipe is easier to read. I don’t think you need to use the items from Pampered Chef in order to be able to make this recipe. I did use the Pampered Chef pizza stone, though, which I love!! Mine isn’t the large one, so see notes below.)

Katie’s Notes/Comments: Okay, don’t kill me, but I didn’t really follow the recipe very well. Here’s what really happened! There are only two of us in the household, and we didn’t want to use two pizza crusts to make a very huge pizza. Also, my pizza stone isn’t as large as the recipe is referring to, so we used one refrigerated pizza crust. I thought the thin crust sounded great when we were looking in the store, and the package said to cook 13 minutes. I think you really need to look at the package for cooking time (or look at the recipe you used to make homemade dough). Even though I was only making one pizza, I didn’t really cut the other ingredients down. There was only a little mayo left in the jar, so I used all of it. I have no idea how much it was. I have one of those little jars of ranch seasoning, so I just shook some of that into the mayo. I used a whole clove of garlic, but we both LOVE garlic. I didn’t follow my own advice this time and didn’t read through the whole recipe before going shopping, and I thought it meant frozen chopped broccoli when I read the ingredient list. So I used about half a package of that. I have to say that it was great on the pizza and I didn’t even have to cut it up! Gray and I weren’t thrilled about the carrots, so I put about a third of a carrot in, sliced fairly thinly. I used one whole red bell pepper. I thought we had olives in the fridge, but when I went to make the pizza, we ended up having two. So there were about 8 olive slices on the whole pizza. Whoops! After tasting, we thought it needed onions, more olives, and that the carrots were only okay, so we’d leave them out. Other than that, it was great! We were eating it as a meal instead of as an appetizer (as the cookbook indicates), so our one pizza made about three servings. We cut it into thirds both ways and had nine squares.

Gray:  This was way better than I expected it to be.  We definitely had some tweaks, but the flavor was awesome.  We will be making this again for sure.  I second Katie’s comment on the onions. I really missed them on this pizza; and more olives would have been nice.  Overall, this recipe was a great success, enjoy!

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Veggies, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

