Arroz con Pollo

  • 3lbs whole chickens, cut into pieces
  • 1 14.5 oz can Italian-style stewed tomatoes
  • 1 10 oz box frozen peas
  • 1 14 oz can chicken broth
  • 3/4 cup roasted red peppers, drained and cut into strips
  • 1 80z box of spanish-style yellow rice mix
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt

Combine all ingredients in the crock.  Stir well.  Cover and cook on: (Low – 8 Hours)  (High – 4 hours)

Yield 4 servings

From: Easy Prep Slow Cooker Recipe Book

Gray:  I don’t know what to say about this one. (Mom said if I can’t say anything nice, I shouldn’t say anything at all.)  It was a super easy to put together, but it was just a soggy, overcooked mess when it was all said and done.   The flavors weren’t bad, but It was not something that either of us particularly enjoyed.

I will say that the last several slow-cooker recipes that I have tried have not been great.  I think it is a wonderful thing for making some dishes, but others just haven’t impressed me.  I think that some of it is that I actually miss the cooking.  But the results just haven’t been that great.  I think I need to practice on it some and figure out how to time it better.

Katie: I agree with Gray that this recipe wasn’t very good. The flavors were good, but like he said, it was very soggy! It would be better if the items were made separately so that the rice would still have some texture to it, but that would defeat the point of using the crock pot. I think some recipes are great in the crock pot, and some just aren’t.  This same cookbook has a recipe for beef stew that is awesome and I often make for family get-togethers. It is so nice to be able to put everything in the crock pot and then have a nice dish all ready to take. However, this recipe was NOT a winner. We’ll just have to figure out what kinds of recipes work best in the crock pot and which ones don’t!

This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

