Fruit and Oat Squares

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup uncooked quick oats
  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/4 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup margarine or butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup apricot, cherry, or other fruit flavor preserves

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray 9-inch square baking pan with nonstick cooking spray; set aside.

2. Combine flour, oats, brown sugar, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in medium bowl; mix well. Add margarine; stir with fork until mixture is crumbly.

3. Reserve 3/4 cup crumb mixture for topping. Press remaining crumb mixture evenly onto bottom of prepared pan. Bake 5-7 minutes or until lightly browned.

4. Spread preserves onto crush; sprinkle with reserved crumb mixture.

5. Bake 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into 16 squares.

Yield: 16 servings

From Favorite Brand Name Best-Loved Light Recipes

Notes: I thought I had some oats, but when I opened the canister, there were only a few in the bottom. I eat maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal almost every day, so I thought I’d just put in some of that as well to get close to a cup. Also, I couldn’t get the preserves to spread well, so just did the best I could. Then when I removed it from the oven, I used a fork to sorta mash it down and spread the preserves and crumb topping around. That worked fine.

Katie: These were great! You may have noticed that this recipe is from the same cookbook as Gray’s BBQ sauce. When he was looking through the cookbook to choose a recipe, the BBQ sauce was the only one that he wanted to make. He asked me to look through it to see if there was anything else I wanted to make or did we want to get rid of this cookbook. (This is the one that the Mediterranean Couscous was in, of which we were not fond.) I looked, keeping that in mind, and this recipe stood out to me. It sounded so good and simple to make. Plus I had some extra preserves in the pantry that were screaming to make fruit bars. So, we had strawberry oat squares! They were really good, except for a little too much sweetness from the instant oatmeal packs. But we found some plain vanilla ice cream, and that helped cut the sweetness a bit. Plus the squares are pretty small, so the sweetness doesn’t overpower before getting done. I think the only way this recipe could be called “light” is the fact that you are supposed to cut a 9×9 pan into 16 squares. Tiny squares!! (There are two in the picture.) Still a keeper recipe, though!

Gray: I second what Katie said, these were great.  They remind me of the cherry crisp that we had in school growing up.  It was always one of my favorites.  We feel like you can probably make this with any kind of fresh or preserved fruit and have it turn out equally delicious, with minor modifications.

This entry was posted in Desserts, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

