The Frugal Gourmet’s Tomato Soup

  • 6 ripe tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp butter or oil
  • 3 cups Chicken Soup Stock
  • 1 cup milk or cream
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • butter
  • celery leaves for garnish

Saute the tomatoes in the butter or oil until they are tender. Mix the tomatoes with the soup stock, and simmer for 20 minutes.  Run the mixture through a food blender, put back into the saucepan, add the milk or cream, and a pat of butter. Heat, and serve with celery leaf garnish.

Yield: 4-6 Servings

From The Frugal Gourmet by Jeff Smith

Gray:  This was tasty, and it is a dead simple recipe.  It does take some time to peel, seed, and chop the tomatoes, but I think it is worth it.  I really liked this. It was much better than canned tomato soup, but it wasn’t the best I’ve ever had.   I think the tomatoes should have been more ripe.  These were hot-house tomatoes, and I am pretty sure they were chemically ripened.  I want to try this again when our fresh tomatoes start to come in.  I feel like it would make a big difference.

I have really enjoyed reading though this cookbook.  Jeff Smith was  one of my “cooking heroes” growing up, and he was one of the first inspirations for me to really branch our and discover different foods.  He taught me that to respect and appreciate other food cultures and to incorporate them into your cooking. The cookbook is full of recipes that emphasize simplicity and fresh ingredients, which really parallels what we have been trying to do.

Katie: This was not my favorite tomato soup when we ate it the night we made it. We make some kickin’ grilled cheese sandwiches though. However, when we had this soup as leftovers several nights later, it was great! I don’t know what made it taste better as leftovers instead of fresh, but that was the case. I liked this soup and would make it again if this was exactly what I wanted, but I would probably try a different recipe if I just wanted tomato soup, seeing as this wasn’t the best I’ve ever had.

Update: Katie thought this was much better re-heated.

This entry was posted in Side Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Frugal Gourmet’s Tomato Soup

  1. hinsone says:

    Loved watching the Frugal Gourmet growing up. Back before Food Network, used to watch him, Julia Child, Graham Kerr, Justin Wilson and Ming Sai all on PBS. I believe I have one of his cookbooks as well.

Leave a Reply

