“Chinese Takeout” Lemon Chicken

  • 1 T oil
  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 6oz snow peas, trimmed
  • 1 small red pepper, cut into strips
  • 1 pkg (4-serving size) Jell-O Brand Lemon Flavor Gelatin
  • 1 T cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 2 T Italian Dressing
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Heat oil in large skillet on medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 4 minutes or until cooked through, stirring occasionally. Add snow peas and peppers; cook and stir 2 minutes.

Mix dry gelatin mix and cornstarch in small bowl. Add broth, dressing, and garlic; stir until gelatin is dissolved. Add to skillet. Reduce heat to medium; cook 3 minutes or until sauce is thickened, stirring frequently.

Serve over hot cooked rice, if desired.

Yield: 4 servings

From Kraft Food & Family Magazine

Katie: This was good, especially for the ease of preparation. I could not get my sauce to coat the chicken and vegetables as shown in the magazine, but the flavor was good and I mixed it all up with the rice. It had a nice lemony flavor, and wasn’t too sweet. I could not find anything labeled snow peas in the store, so I got sugar snap peas. I think they are fairly similar. The recipe didn’t specify frozen or fresh, and I had found frozen, so I steamed them in the microwave. The directions said 3.5-5.5 minutes, so I just did them 2 minutes so they wouldn’t be frozen, but then wouldn’t get too soggy while cooking them in my recipe. It seemed to work fine!

In case you are wondering how to make a rice mound, it is easy! Just take a small bowl and put the rice in it. I don’t usually fill it to the top, just go as high up the bowl as you want to make it. Then press it lightly with the back of a spoon. Invert onto your serving plate, and you have a rice mound! You can make it with anything you have in order to get different shapes. I haven’t tried it with anything with square corners, so I don’t know if the rice would try to get stuck in that or not. But the bowl works great and looks elegant.

Gray: I didn’t get to try this fresh since I was up in the mountains, but it was delicious reheated.  It had a great sweet and savory flavor, and I enjoyed it.  I would definitely try this one again.

This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Chinese Takeout” Lemon Chicken

Leave a Reply

