Girdle Scones

Among the breads baked on a griddle (the Scots insist on saying “girdle”), scones seem to run high in popularity. They are rather sour-flavored because of the buttermilk content, and their delicate texture makes them excellent when hot, split, buttered well, and spread with raspberry jam. Cold, they are best cut in half, toasted, and served swimming in butter. Exceptionally easy to make, they are apt to be a novelty to some people.

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 t cream of tarter
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 t granulated sugar
  • 1 t baking soda
  • Buttermilk or sour cream

Sift the flour, cream of tartar, salt, sugar, and baking soda together. Take a cupful of the mixture and combine it with enough buttermilk or sour cream to make a soft dough. Pat it with the hand on a floured board and form into a circle 1/2 inch thick. Cut in wedges and bake on a floured griddle over a medium heat until lightly browned, then turn to brown on the other side. Serve hot or cold.

Yield: 8 to 12 scones

From Beard on Bread

Katie: Well, I must confess that once again I realize I did not follow the recipe correctly as I was typing it up. I’m not sure how I can still do that. I guess I just get to skimming the recipe instead of actually reading it and somehow miss a step every time I read it. I didn’t see I was supposed to do it in two batches instead of one. So I think my scones were a little too thick. I added frozen blueberries because that sounded delicious, and I had to simulate buttermilk by adding lemon juice to plain milk. I think I used too much milk, as they were VERY sticky. I ended up getting too much flour on the outsides (see picture above), because they were so hard to move from the counter to the pan. We don’t have a griddle, so I cooked them in our Le Creuset braiser pan. I had a little trouble getting them to get done in the center, and propped them up to cook on the edges as well as the top and bottom. In the end, even after all my errors, they were still pretty tasty scones. I personally preferred the scones I mentioned in the Mother’s Day Tea Party post, but these were completely different. I think it would really be up to each individual as to which ones he or she thought was better. Also, these are probably better if made correctly!

Gray:  I thought these were tasty, and a different approach to making scones that we have tried before.  I thought the others turned out better, but we were sort-of winging these, so I would like to try them again and see how they turn out.

This entry was posted in Breakfast/Brunch, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

