Sweet Potato Biscuits

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus additional for dusting
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1 T light brown sugar
  • 1/2 t fine salt
  • 1/4 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 t ground allspice
  • 5 T cold unsalted butter, sliced
  • 3/4 cup mashed whole canned sweet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup milk

1. Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 425°F. Line a baking sheet with a double layer of parchment paper.

2. Whisk the 1 1/2 cups flour, baking powder, brown sugar, salt, cinnamon, and allspice in a medium bowl. Rub in two tablespoons with your fingertips until no visible pieces remain. Rub in the remaining 3 tablespoons butter just until it is in even, pea-sized pieces. Combine the sweet potatoes and milk and stir into the flour mixture to make a moist dough.

3. Turn dough onto a lightly floured work surface and pat into a rectangle about 1/2 inch thick (don’t worry if dough doesn’t all come together). Fold dough in thirds, like a business letter, and pat lightly into an 8×5-inch rectangle – about 3/4 inch thick. Using a 2-3inch round biscuit cutter, cut 6 biscuits and place on baking sheet. Press dough scraps together and cut 2 more biscuits. Bake until lightly browned, about 12 minutes. Cool briefly before serving.

Yield: 8 biscuits

From Food Network Kitchens Cookbook

These biscuits were fairly easy to make. I couldn’t find canned sweet potatoes in the store, so I bought one fresh sweet potato, peeled and cubed it, boiled until tender, and then put in the food processor. That worked fine, just was a little more time consuming. I have never heard of working the butter into the dry ingredients with my fingers, so I admit I used my pastry blender. I must have gotten too much of my puree in the biscuits, because the dough was VERY moist and sticky. I couldn’t get it to let go of my hands, so I added a little more flour. I still couldn’t imagine trying to fold such a wet dough on the counter, so I just scooped up some of the dough and put it on the baking sheet. Then I sorta mushed them all flat with my palm before baking. My dough made 12 biscuits, as you can see in the picture. I’m sure I did something wrong for my dough to be so wet, but the biscuits were wonderful! They were flavorful and a great texture! I was pleased with the outcome!

This entry was posted in Side Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Potato Biscuits

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    But I think I’ll try using up left over sweet potato oven fries for this – or other sweet potato leftovers I might have (of which I have lots, quite often!)

    • What a great idea! I like to use leftover mashed potatoes to make shepherd’s pie, but I had not thought of using the left over sweet potato oven fries in another dish. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

