Cherry Chiffon

  • 1 package (3 oz) Jell-O Cherry Gelatin
  • 3/4 cup boiling water
  • 1 cup ice cubes
  • 1 can (8 3/4 oz) pitted sweet dark cherries, drained
  • 1 package (3 oz) Jell-O Cherry Gelatin
  • 3/4 cup boiling water
  • 1 cup ice cubes
  • 2 cups (or one 4 1/2 oz container) Cool Whip, thawed (Or use 2 cups prepared Dream Whip Whipped Topping)

Dissolve 1 package gelatin in 3/4 cup boiling water. Add 1 cup ice cubes and stir about 3 minutes, until gelatin is slightly thickened. Remove any unmelted ice. Stir in fruit. Pour into a 5-cup mold. Place in refrigerator. Dissolve second package of gelatin in 3/4 cup boiling water. Add ice cubes and stir about 3 minutes, until gelatin is slightly thickened. Remove any unmelted ice. Fold in whipped topping. Pour into mold over fruited layer. Refrigerate at least 1 hour. Makes about 5 cups or 10 servings.

Strawberry Chiffon – Prepare Cherry Chiffon as directed, substituting strawberry flavor gelatin and 1 cup sliced fresh strawberries for the cherry flavor gelatin and the cherries.

From The New Joys of Jell-O Recipe Book

Katie: We found this cookbook at a thrift store one day for about 50 cents. Neither of us had really had many jello desserts growing up, other than plain jello, with the exception of a cranberry jello side dish that both of our mothers made at Thanksgiving. Two different recipes for cranberry jello salad, I might add. Anyway, I wanted to try out different recipes, and I have been looking for a jello mold ever since. My brother and his family got me a Tupperware jello mold for my birthday, so here is its first use!

I did not have much trouble with the preparation of this. After reading the note about how it was okay to use fresh strawberries, I decided to go the fresh cherry route. I pitted them using a method I saw on television. I took a glass drink bottle and placed each cherry on top, one by one. I took a chop stick, and poked down through the cherry, which pushed the pit into the bottle. This worked great, only missing a couple of pits. I cut the cherries in half to put them in the jello, because I thought they were too big. I wasn’t getting anywhere trying to fold the cool whip into the jello, so I got out a fork and mixed fairly vigorously in order to get the cool whip and jello mixed up.

The cherry chiffon turned out great! I don’t think I let the mold sit in the warm water bath long enough, as some of it stuck on the mold, but it still looked pretty and tasted great! I think I would cut the cherries into smaller pieces if making again. It was hard to try to cut the jello with the cherries in it.

Gray: This was delicious and a light and tasty dessert. It is also very pretty. I don’t know why jello isn’t more popular as a dessert. It can be so elegant and refreshing when done well. It makes a great end to a meal.

This entry was posted in Desserts, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

