Shish Kabobs

  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup salad oil
  • 1 small onion, finely grated
  • 1 clove garlic, split
  • 1 Tbsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp oregano leaves
  • 1/4 tsp ground allspice
  • 2 lbs boned leg of lamb, cut into 1-1/2 inch cubes
  • 2 tomatoes, quartered (not too ripe)
  • 2 small onions, quartered
  • 1-2 green peppers, cut into 1-inch squares
  • 16 mushroom caps

Combine first 9 ingredients; pour over lamb; cover.  Marinate overnight in refrigerator, stirring occasionally. Alternate meat and vegetables on skewer, starting and ending with a mushroom cap. Allow approximately 2 mushroom caps, 4 pieces of lamb, 1 tomato quarter, 1 onion quarter, and 2 pieces pepper per skewer.  Grill over hot coals or broil until crusty and tender (about 25 minutes), basting occasionally with marinade.  When broiling, cook very slowly at first on both sides then brown for a few minutes.

Yield: 8 servings

From BARBECUES and CLUES by H.J. Heinz Company

Gray:  First let me say: best kebabs ever!!!  They were really that good.  This may be my favorite recipe from our project so far.  I am pretty sure Katie is tired of hearing me rave about them.  I love kebabs, despite what Bon Appetit said about them last year. I think they are an American classic: a result of our melting pot culture and love affair with the grill.

A couple of quick notes on tweaks/changes.  I lined out the step in the recipe that called for basting with the marinade.  That can be very dangerous, and I never recommend it, but it would probably be good if you reserve some marinade when it is made to save for that purpose.  I also used half white vinegar and half red wine vinegar in the recipe to give it a little zing. I did not cook the kebabs as long as suggested and took them off when they looked done.

This cookbook is from the late 50’s to mid 60’s although it doesn’t have a date anywhere that I can find.  It was so cute that I had to have it, and it contains some great recipes that are American backyard barbecue classics.

Katie: We have had mixed results cooking with lamb, so I was not excited about Gray’s choice this week. I was so afraid we’d spend the money to buy the lamb and then not like the recipe. However, this recipe was awesome! I ended up going to three stores to find any lamb, and then it wasn’t the right cut. So if you are making this recipe, I would recommend scoping out your lamb options before the day you want to make it! I ended up finding some bone-in lamb chops on sale at Harris Teeter, but I’m sure other grocery stores have lamb, as well as many butchers. Gray cut up the chops the best he could to make them into kabob sized pieces. My only dislike on the kabobs, was that the onion portions weren’t done enough for me. I would split the layers of onion up along the kabob length so each portion would cook a little more. If it was a milder onion, it might not have mattered as much, but the red onions we used were strong. Other than that, I loved the lamb kabobs, much to my surprise!

This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shish Kabobs

  1. Pingback: Our Favorite Recipes: 2012 | A New Recipe Each Week

  2. Pingback: The Frugal Gourmet’s Greek Salad | A New Recipe Each Week

Leave a Reply

