Oatmeal Cookies

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t ground cinnamon, optional
  • 1/4 t ground cloves, optional
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups rolled oats

1. In large mixing bowl beat butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add brown sugar, granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and, if desired, cinnamon and cloves. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally. Beat in eggs and vanilla until combined. Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Stir in any remaining flour. Stir in rolled oats.

2. Drop dough by rounded teaspoons 2 inches apart onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake in a 375° oven for 8 to 10 minutes or until edges are golden. Cool on cookie sheet for 1 minute. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool.

Yield:  about 48 cookies

From Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book

Katie: I made these to take on a family reunion picnic. They turned out well, and I did include the cinnamon and cloves. That being said, I think I prefer them NOT spicy. So next time I make them, I’m going to leave out the cloves but put in the cinnamon and see how that turns out. If I don’t like that, I’ll leave out both the time after that. I love oatmeal cookies, so I’m sure there will be all these next times! I got to use my cookie scoop that I got for Christmas from my sister. A big thanks to my sister as I LOVE the cookie scoop! It really makes it so much easier than two spoons, which is how I’ve been making them until I got the scoop. I love it so much, that if I broke it, I would buy another!

Gray: These cookies were yummy, but they weren’t my favorite oatmeal cookies ever.  I think I would try another recipe before making these again, but they were good, and you may love them!

This entry was posted in Desserts, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oatmeal Cookies

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    I have that edition to Better Homes and Garden Cook book. There is some great recipes in there. Thanks for reminding me to pull that cook book out and take a look.

  2. Yes, we like this cookbook as well. It has some great recipes in it! What is your favorite?

Leave a Reply

