Creamed Chicken

  • 1 (8-ounce) package sliced mushrooms
  • 1/3 cup chopped green pepper
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 (14 1/2-ounce) can chicken broth
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • 2 1/2 cups chopped cooked chicken
  • 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning
  • Dash of pepper
  • 3 Tbsp dry sherry
  • 1 (2-ounce) jar diced pimento, drained
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds, toasted (optional)
  • Cornbread

Saute first 3 ingredients in butter until tender. Add flour, stirring until smooth; cook 1 minute stirring constantly.  Gradually add broth and half-and-half; cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until thickened. Stir in chicken and next 5 ingredients; cook 5 minutes. Serve over cornbread.

Yield: 6 servings

From The Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook

Notes: I made a few modifications:  I substituted turkey for the chicken, and instead of cornbread, we served it over egg noodles one night and wild rice another night.  Both were great!  I left off the almonds as well.

Gray:  This was a delicious recipe, and it is one of those that gets better as it sits. I had been craving something that I could make that would use up some leftover turkey, and also to put over noodles.  This fit the bill nicely.  It is a very flexible recipe and we will definitely be making this again sometime.

Katie: This was a great recipe! When I read the ingredients, I thought it sounded like a stroganoff. My mother used to make her version with ground beef, mushrooms, and a cream sauce, which she served over egg noodles. So this was a little nostalgic for me. The final product was similar to the beef stroganoff, but did taste different. I really enjoyed it, and just like Gray commented, it was better after it had been in the fridge a few days. I personally like it better over the egg noodles, and I would like to try it over cornbread. I agree that this is definitely one we will make again. What a great way to use leftover Thanksgiving turkey that transforms the turkey into something new.

This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Creamed Chicken

  1. I’m a vegetarian and I still think it looks delish! When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made a soup that looks like a cappuccino. Confused? Come and see. Would love to hear what you think

Leave a Reply

