Neiman Marcus Cookies (nothing to do with Neiman Marcus!)

Neiman Marcus Cookies

  • 5 cups oatmeal
  • 4 cups flour
  • 1 t salt
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 2 cups butter
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 24 oz chocolate chips
  • 1 8-oz Hershey Bar
  • 3 cups chopped nuts (your choice)

Blend oatmeal in blender or food processor until a fine powder. Grate Hershey bar and set aside. Chop nuts to desired fineness and set aside. Mix together oatmeal, flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Set aside. In large bowl cream the butter and both sugars. Add eggs and vanilla. Add oatmeal mixture to butter mixture. Batter will become very thick and hard to mix. Add chocolate chips, Hershey bar, and nuts. Batter becomes even thicker and may have to be finished off in a kneading fashion. Roll into balls and place two inches apart on a cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes at 375°F. Makes 112 cookies. Recipe may be cut in half.

From Our Recipe Binder. Origin of recipe unknown. See below.

Notes: I rewrote the recipe a bit as the ingredients were in a strange order and it didn’t really explain the steps well. I used walnuts as my nut of choice because we had some on hand.

Katie: I’ve had this recipe forever and always wanted to make it. No time like the present! Gray was unexcited about the cookies after he read the article about it (see his comments below), but he thought they were great once made! I tried using a cookie scoop instead of rolling into balls for one pan, and they just didn’t turn out as well. You can see in the back of the picture that some of them look craggy. They still tasted good, but I didn’t think they were as good and I really like the smoother ones. I thought they were wonderful cookies, but a fair amount of trouble. I did half the recipe as I didn’t want 112 cookies even if we were taking them to work. I would probably make these again, but not if I was in a hurry!

Gray: Ok, so I’ll provide the spoiler.  Katie and I were debating the origin of this recipe, so I checked with the definitive source for debunking internet falsehoods, Snopes.com and confirmed that the source of this was in fact not Neiman Marcus. Click here for more info. The good news is that even if the source of the recipe is not true, the resulting cookies are in fact delicious.  We both took them to share at work and they disappeared very quickly. If you want to try the true Neiman Marcus cookie recipe, that was developed in response to the rumor, click here.

This entry was posted in Desserts, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Neiman Marcus Cookies (nothing to do with Neiman Marcus!)

  1. hinsone says:

    I also think the oatmeal “flour” is a little odd, not the same as an oatmeal cookie.. but hey, two types of chocolate can’t be wrong right?

  2. I liked the way it had oatmeal flavor but not big oatmeal pieces, but I also thought the processed oatmeal was odd. I am not convinced that the grated chocolate was needed. It just added another step when it seemed like I could have just put more chocolate chips in the cookies. But they were delicious, so maybe the cookies were just right the way they were! (-Katie)

  3. brejniak says:

    They looks very delicious! I love eating and making all sorts of cookies. Will try them sometimes if you don’t mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

