Rachael Ray’s Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

  • 3 slices bacon, chopped
  • 1 T extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 1 1/2 pounds Brussels sprouts, trimmed, small sprouts left whole, larger sprouts halved
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup chicken broth

Brown bacon in a medium skillet over medium high heat. Remove bacon to a paper towel lined plate. Add olive oil to the pan, 1 turn of the pan. Add shallots to the pan and saute 1 to 2 minutes. Add Brussels sprouts and coat in oil. Season with salt and pepper. Cook Brussels sprouts 2 to 3 minutes to begin to soften, then add broth. Bring broth to a bubble, cover and reduce heat to medium low. Cook 10 minutes, until tender. Transfer sprouts to a serving dish with a slotted spoon and top with cooked bacon bits.

Yield: 4 servings

From foodnetwork.com, recipe by Rachael Ray

Katie: I have mentioned Brussels sprouts before, but never shared a recipe on our blog. This is the third time I have made Brussels sprouts, and I just love them as long as they aren’t too soggy and limp. My first try was the worst one, but I learned from that mistake. I prefer to cut all of the sprouts in half, and not cook as long as this recipe instructs. These are very tasty and I like the crunchy bacon bits on top. The bacon and shallots give the sprouts a very good flavor. A friend of mine was jealous that I was making Brussels sprouts, so I took her some. She agreed that they were wonderful!

For my second attempt at cooking Brussels sprouts, I tried a recipe from Bon Appétit magazine that was delicious. The recipe follows our comments on this post. It was a super simple recipe, the preparation of the sprouts taking the most amount of time. It was also delicious and when I made it for our Christmas celebration, there were no leftovers!

Gray:  I don’t like Brussels sprouts.  At least I don’t like them as much as Katie.  They are starting to grow on me.  I think they ought to taste like baby cabbages and they don’t.  This bothers me.  Sorry, I’m being a little tongue in cheek.  🙂 I like these and the recipe below.  If you don’t like Brussels spouts, these are a great way to give them a try or maybe a second chance.

Bon Appétit’s Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Lemon

  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 cups Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved lengthwise
  • 2 T water
  • Juice of lemon half, about 1 T

1. In a 12-inch nonstick skillet heat 3 T of the olive oil over medium heat. Arrange Brussels sprouts in a single layer, cut sides down. Drizzle with remaining olive oil and sprinkle generously with salt and a grind or two of black pepper. Cover and cook for 3 minutes. Remove lid and sprinkle sprouts with water. Cover and cook 2 minutes more. Sprouts should be just tender when pierced with a fork, and beginning to caramelize.

2. Remove cover and increase heat slightly. When cut sides are well-caramelized, toss sprouts in pan, drizzle with lemon juice, and sprinkle with more salt and pepper to taste. Makes 6 servings.

This entry was posted in Side Dishes, Veggies, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

