Poultry Perfect Rub

Perfect Poultry Rub

  • 3/4 cup paprika
  • 1/4 cup ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup celery salt
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp onion powder
  • 2 Tbsp dry mustard
  • 2 tsp cayenne
  • zest of 3 to 4 lemons, dried and minced

Smoke & SpiceMix the spices thoroughly in a bowl.  Store covered in a cool, dark pantry.

Yield: about 2 cups

From: Smoke & Spice by Cheryl Alters Jamison and Bill Jamison

The book suggests that you can air-dry the zest overnight, or place it in a 225° oven for 8-10 minutes.  I went with the latter option and it worked out well, but I brought the heat down closer to 200° and checked it every 2 to 3 minutes to be sure it didn’t burn….  (not that I’ve ever done that)  😀

Gray:  I will go ahead and say that if you are going to call something “Poultry Perfect Rub”  then the spices better bring it and not leave anything on the table. This recipe does, and it really lives up to the name.  It is a great poultry rub.  I will definitely be making this one again.

I didn’t have any celery salt, so I researched how to make it and found this article.  Turns out it was simple enough to produce and let me carry on with my project.  I used this link to make it.  I found this later, and it looks even better.

I have said it before, but I really enjoy using rubs when grilling pork and chicken.  I have started making my own and I really enjoy it.   It is so much more fun to use something I’ve put together myself than just something I’ve bought.  In case you have never used a rub for grilling, I’ll share my method here. I sprinkle or rub the mixture onto the meat anywhere from a few minutes to a day before (the longer the better).  Then grill the meat according to the cut.  For chicken, I cook it over a low direct heat, turning often.  Once the meat is nearly done, I brush on a barbecue sauce to finish it off.  The combination of the rub, and sauce gives a good complexity of flavor, and saving the sauce to the end keeps it from burning up as the meat cooks, so I don’t wind up with accidentally blackened chicken or pork-chops.

Perfect Poultry Rubbed ChickenKatie: This was great chicken! The rub smelled great and I can’t wait to use it again. We will probably try it with a different sauce next time to see what flavor we get from that. We also like to use bone-in, skin-on chicken for grilling. It helps keep the chicken from drying out and getting over done. It’s also not very hard to cut most of the chicken off of the bone with a knife and fork. I use the T-shaped cut that Gray taught me before we got married. You cut the chicken long-ways from the tip all the way across to the other end. Then you cut across the widest part of the chicken, perpendicular to your first cut. Be sure to cut all the way to the bone. After making your cuts, use the knife to pull the meat away from the bone and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Grilling, Main Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

