Gratin Savoyard (Cheesy Potatoes)

Gratin SavoyardPreparation: 20 minutes
Cooking: 1 hour
Very Easy
Serves 6

  • 2 1/4 – 2 1/2 lb firm waxy potatoes
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 5 oz grated Beaufort (semihard) cheese
  • 3 1/4 cups pints chicken broth
  • salt and pepper

Peel the potatoes and cut into very thin, round slices. Dry very thoroughly in a clean cloth. Grease a wide, shallow ovenproof dish with some of the butter. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Arrange the potatoes in layers, seasoning with salt and freshly ground pepper and sprinkling each layer with grated cheese.

French Regional CookingAdd the boiling hot broth. Sprinkle the surface of the potatoes with the remaining grated cheese and dot with flakes of butter. Bake, uncovered, for 1 hour.

From French Regional Cooking

Katie: I was so looking forward to these potatoes! While a nice texture, they just weren’t all that. I’ve made many better tasting potatoes. That being said, I had a lot of fun using our mandolin to cut thin, even slices of the potatoes! The mandolin makes it so much easier to get uniform slices of anything. Ours goes in the dishwasher for fairly easy clean-up, and it isn’t hard to use. I made short work of the potatoes!

This is not one of my favorite cookbooks. I like the way it is arranged by region and it has a fair number of pictures and the recipes are good. I also like the way it has recipes that the average person would make instead of just having fancy recipes that only a chef would make. However, the index is lacking. Instead of having a potato section, there are only a few recipes under “P” for potatoes. For instance, this one was under “C” for cheesy potatoes. I dislike that because it makes it almost impossible to find a recipe if you want to cook with a certain main ingredient! But I guess I can overlook the drawbacks due to the good things about it!

Gray:  I agree with Katie about this recipe – it was ok, it just wasn’t a great recipe.  I generally like the cookbook, but my results with it have been hit or miss.  I think we will keep trying some different recipes to see what we like.  The cookbook is filled with lots of examples of rustic French cooking and I want to try some more of the stews and one-pot type of recipes.

This entry was posted in Side Dishes, Veggies, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

