Banana Muffins

Banana Muffins

  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup mashed ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Combine first 4 ingredients in a large bowl. Make a well in the center of the mixture. Combine egg, mashed banana, milk, and oil. Add this mixture to dry ingredients, stirring just until moistened. Stir in pecans. Spoon batter into greased muffin pans, filling three-fourths full. Bake at 400°F for 18-20 minutes or until golden. Remove from pan immediately.

Southern Living CookbookYield: 1 dozen

From The Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook

Katie: I love bananas, as I probably made abundantly clear when we posted the recipe Sticky Toffee Banana Pudding. I once again had some very ripe bananas, and was trying to think of what I could make with them. I got to thinking about how much I love muffins and decided that surely one of our cookbooks had a recipe for banana muffins. Sure enough, Southern Living didn’t let me down. These muffins were delicious! I took them to my knit/crochet group meeting, and they were a hit! I think these are going to be a staple for any time we go to any kind of breakfast or brunch get together!

Gray: These are a great breakfast treat!  I like to have them with a little butter, but they are great by themselves.  If you are looking for a good muffin recipe, you can’t go wrong here.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Breads, Breakfast/Brunch, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

