Minestrone

Minestrone

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 2 red onions, chopped
  • 2 3/4 oz prosciutto, sliced
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 orange bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 14 oz canned chopped tomatoes
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • 1 celery stalk, trimmed and sliced
  • 14 oz canned cranberry beans, drained
  • 3 1/2 oz green leafy cabbage, shredded
  • 2 3/4 oz frozen peas, thawed
  • 1 T chopped fresh parsley
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 3/4 oz dried vermicelli
  • freshly grated Parmesan cheese, to garnish
  • fresh crusty bread, to serve

Minestrone IngredientsHeat the oil in a large pan. Add the garlic, onions, and prosciutto and cook over medium heat, stirring, for 3 minutes, until slightly softened. Add the red and orange bell peppers and the chopped tomatoes and cook for another 2 minutes, stirring. Stir in the stock, then add the celery, beans, cabbage, peas, and parsley. Season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer for 30 minutes.

Add the vermicelli to the pan. Cook for another 10-12 minutes, or according to the instruction on the package. Remove from the heat and ladle into serving bowls. Garnish with freshly grated Parmesan and serve with fresh crusty break.

All in OneYield: 4 servings

From All in One

Notes: I forgot to purchase prosciutto and used bacon we had on hand. I decided the spaghetti we already had would do instead of buying vermicelli since I was only adding 2.75 ounces for this recipe. I could not find cranberry beans in our grocery store and used cannellini beans instead.

Katie: I have always wanted to make minestrone. When I came across this recipe, it sounded very good, and not very difficult to make. I decided to go for it! I spent quite some time prepping all the ingredients, but once I had everything ready to go, it went like clockwork. I did not have to stand around while the soup was simmering, and when I added the noodles, I took that time to get salads and bread ready to go. It was very good minestrone!

Gray: Yay soup!  This was a soup-er simple meal.  I have to admit that I have always been more of a meat and potatoes kind of person, at least when it comes to thinking about what to make.  I have always enjoyed soup, but have rarely made it at home. The more we have experimented with different soups the more I enjoy making them. The benefit to this is that I actually think about fixing them as a meal more often.  One of the best things about soups for us is that we can fix them and they freeze well, so dealing with leftovers is not a lot of trouble.  This turned out to be a delicious soup and I think you could really have some flexibility with the noodles (elbows or orecchiette) and greens (kale or even spinach) to use what you have on hand.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Side Dishes, Veggies, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

