Fresh Blueberry Pie

Fresh Blueberry Pie

  • 5 cups fresh blueberries (for 9″ pie) or 4 cups (for 8″ pie)
  • 1 baked pie crust
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 T cornstarch
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 T butter

Cooking in HarmonyMix sugar, cornstarch, and salt in saucepan. Add water and 1 cup berries. Cook and stir over medium heat until thick. Stir in butter and lemon juice. Let cool. Add remaining berries, mix gently and pour into cool pie shell. Refrigerate several hours before serving.

From: Cooking in Harmony: Opus II by the Brevard Music Center

Katie: One of my classmates started asking me about pies at school. It turned out that he just wanted me to make a blueberry pie. So, here it is! This pie was really good, but since you don’t cook all the berries, it is much different than what I have had in the past. I haven’t had a blueberry pie before, but I have had blueberry cobbler. I don’t know if I would make this recipe again without trying other blueberry pie recipes first. But this one was a good recipe and not very hard to make. The hardest part was cooking the pie shell with no filling in it. I didn’t get my weights high enough up the sides and mine sunk down towards the bottom, but it still tasted delicious! Enjoy!

Gray: This is a delicious pie, but as Katie said, it is a bit different.  Not cooking the berries makes it very tasty and fresh, but I don’t know if it is my favorite pie ever.  We are still working on learning to make really great pies, so each one is an experiment.  If you love fresh blueberries, this is worth a try.

This entry was posted in Desserts, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

