Hummus bi Tahina (Chickpea and Sesame Dip)

Hummus

  • 4 oz chickpeas, soaked for a few hours
  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • 3 T tahina (paste made from ground sesame seeds)
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • salt

Garnish:

  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 t paprika
  • a few springs of parsley, finely chopped

Drain the chickpeas and simmer in fresh water for about an hour or until tender. Reserve the cooking water. [As near as I can figure from online forums, this amount of dried chickpeas will result in about 3/4 cup of cooked chickpeas. This is a little less than a can, and I used a whole can in this recipe. I did not convert properly when I was making this, so my humus was very garlic-y, but it was still tasty. I did not try it using dried chickpeas, so I cannot confirm that this amount is correct.]

Process the chickpeas in a blender with the lemon juice, tahina, garlic and salt and enough of the cooking liquid to obtain a soft creamy consistency.

Serve on a flat plate, garnished with a dribble of olive oil, a dusting of paprika, and a little parsley.

Mediterranean CookeryYield: 4-6 servings

From Mediterranean Cookery

Katie: This was good, but as I mentioned before, I didn’t convert properly in my head so my measurements were a little off. Other hummus recipes I have made called for blending olive oil into it instead of just on top, and I ended up doing that to adjust the consistency of my humus since I didn’t have any cooking liquid. I think my version needed more lemon juice, and less garlic and tahini paste. However, it still tastes good, and I think I would make this again. We haven’t had good luck with getting dried beans to a tender consistency, so I would probably use canned chickpeas next time as well. My biggest complaint about homemade humus is that the canned chickpeas have the skins on them, which makes the consistency different than store bought hummus. One time I popped each chickpea out of its skin and the consistency was better, but it was a big pain and I don’t plan to do that again! This time I used my food mill to crush the chickpeas, and ended up having to use the largest disk in it to get any to push through. The large disk allowed the skins to go through as well, so it wasn’t an improvement and made more dirty dishes!

Gray: I thought this was very tasty.  It had a great garlic and lemon flavor which gave it some good brightness.  I enjoy hummus, but not enough to go through the trouble of trying to make it the way Katie has, so I’ll probably just stick to buying it already made… That being said, the homemade kind really seems to have a better flavor and the skins, although they change the texture, probably make the whole thing more filling.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hummus bi Tahina (Chickpea and Sesame Dip)

  1. Lisa says:

    Hummus is soooo good!

Leave a Reply

