Congo Bars

Congo BarsPreheat oven to 350°F. Line a 13 x 9-inch baking pan with aluminum foil, allowing it to overhang the two narrow ends of the pan by about 2 inches. Grease the foil or coat with nonstick spray.

In a large saucepan over low heat, melt:

  • 1 cup (8 ozs) unsalted butter

Remove from the heat and stir in:

  • 2 1/3 cups (18.75 ozs) packed dark brown sugar

Add:

  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 t vanilla

Sift over, then stir in:

  • 2 2/3 cups (13.25 ozs) all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 t baking powder

Stir in:

  • 2 cups (12 ozs) semisweet chocolate morsels
  • 1 1/2 cups (5.25 ozs) walnuts
  • 1/2 cup (1.5 oz) flaked or shredded sweetened coconut (optional)

When the batter is mixed, turn out into the pan, spreading to edges. Bake on middle oven rack for about 25 minutes, until firm when lightly taped and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out slightly wet. Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let stand until completely cool. Using the overhanging foil as handles, lift the bar to a cutting board. Carefully peel off the foil. Cut into 18 bars.

Joy of Cooking Christmas CookiesFrom Joy of Cooking Christmas Cookies

Katie: I have had such good luck with recipes from this cookbook! This one was no exception, and turned out wonderfully! They are similar in flavor to chocolate chip cookies, but are easier to make since you don’t have to take the time to make drop cookies. That was one of the reasons that I chose the recipe, and it didn’t let me down. It wasn’t hard to do and was just delicious. I did not have any walnuts, so mine didn’t have any nuts. Also since I was taking this to a party, I did not add the coconut since many people do not like it. I now want to try it with coconut! This recipe is a keeper for sure!

Gray: These were delicious and a super treat.  We took them to a get together and they were a hit. As Katie said above, we ended up picking this this because it was a bar and not as hard to make as regular cookies. I definitely think they would be better with nuts and coconut.  I can’t wait to try them again.

This entry was posted in Desserts, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Congo Bars

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    I got my recipe for Congo bars in the 1950’s from being a girl scout. I still enjoy making them.

  2. That is great! I did not learn any recipes from my stint as a girl scout, but I really enjoyed making these. I am sure that I will make these again, especially if I do not want to take the time to make chocolate chip cookies.
    -Katie

Leave a Reply

