Peanut Butter Cookies

20140614_213355

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar (or 1/4 cup honey)
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • granulated sugar

1. In a large mixing bowl beat butter and peanut butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add the granulated sugar, brown sugar, baking soda, and baking powder. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally. Beat in egg and vanilla until combined. Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Stir in any remaining flour. If necessary, cover and chill dough until easy to handle.

2. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll in additional granulated sugar to coat. Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten by making crisscross marks with the tines of a fork. Bake in a 375°F oven for 7-9 minutes or until bottoms are lightly browned. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool.

New Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook
Yield: about 36 cookies

From The New Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook

Katie: My dad loves cookies, and this Father’s Day I decided to make him cookies since I could not travel to see him. This was one of the recipes I picked out. My dad and I both love peanut butter cookies and I thought this would do well in the mail. I almost always make the same peanut butter cookie recipe, except the one we shared three years ago from the honey brochure at the state fair. As we discussed at that time, those cookies were soft and chewy and in the end we just preferred my original recipe to the chewy ones. I decided to try this recipe from the Better Homes & Gardens cookbook, since I often have good luck with these recipes. I was iffy about rolling them in more sugar, but followed the recipe anyway. The cookies were very crisp and flattened out more than my other recipe. So I wouldn’t flatten them as much when making the fork marks on top, or chill the dough first as mentioned in the recipe. These turned out very crisp and were tasty, but I still think I prefer my original peanut butter cookie recipe! As a bonus, I have shared that recipe below our comments. I hope you enjoy, whichever recipe you try!

Gray: These were good, but I think I agree with Katie that her other recipe is better.  Still these are worth trying and they may be just what you are looking for.  Enjoy!

Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies
(Recipe from Crisco)

  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 T milk
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 3/4 t baking soda

Preheat oven to 375°F. [I always cook them at 350°F because I don’t like the cookies as crisp.] Combine peanut butter, shortening, brown sugar, milk, and vanilla in large bowl. Beat at medium speed until well blended. Add egg, beating until just blended. Combine flour, salt, and baking soda. Add to creamed mixture at low speed. Mix until just blended. Drop by heaping teaspoonfuls 2″ apart on ungreased cookie sheet. [I always roll them into 1″ balls.] Flatten slightly with a fork to make a crisscross patter. Bake at 375°F [again, I bake at 350°F] for 7-8 minutes or until set and just beginning to brown. Cool 2 minutes on baking sheet, then remove to rack to completely.

This entry was posted in Desserts, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Ema Jones says:

    Superb!!
    Beat summer with Peach Cobbler
    http://bit.ly/1qXfGnE

Leave a Reply

