The Frugal Gourmet’s Greek Salad

Greek SaladThis salad is common at good Greek restaurants, and it is a great favorite of my family. If you make a gigantic version, it will provide a grand summer evening meal. The wine should be white; the bread, crunchy.

  • Cherry tomatoes, cut up
  • White or yellow onions, cut into thin slices
  • Green peppers, sliced
  • Greek olives
  • Feta cheese, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Oregano to taste
  • Basic Fennel Dressing

Mix the cherry tomatoes, onions, and green peppers. Add some Greek olives and some feta cheese. Toss with salt and pepper, a little oregano, and the fennel dressing. Serve over a bed of torn lettuce.

The Frugal GourmetFrom The Frugal Gourmet

Gray: This was really tasty and I enjoyed it  I think I prefer Greek salad with red onions and cucumbers, but this was very good and I think I would tweak it just slightly to be the way I wanted it.  It was a very pretty dish and it was great to use the fennel dressing in a slightly different preparation.  I hope you enjoy!

Katie: I ended up making this choice of Gray’s because he was busy grilling lamb kebobs. We had invited some friends over and they were helping me chop all the ingredients. Somehow between the three of us, we forgot to add any onions to this dish. However, even with that omission, the salad was wonderful! I would definitely make this again, and I enjoyed the fennel dressing on this salad much better than a regular green salad. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Side Dishes, Veggies, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Frugal Gourmet’s Greek Salad

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    I have 4 of his cook books that I bought very cheaply at a thrift store. I really like them. I remember him on TV but didn’t watch him much because I was working. I now wish I had. I like his salad dressings. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

