Rachael Ray’s Mexican Fiesta Salad

Mexican Fiesta Salad

  • 2 rip avocados
  • 3 vine-rip tomatoes
  • 1/2 sweet onion, sliced
  • chopped cilantro (about 2 T)
  • 2 limes, halved
  • coarse salt
  • extra-virgin olive oil, for drizzling

Cut avocados in half, working around the pit. Separate the 2 halves. Remove pit and carefully scoop out avocado halves with a spoon. Cut avocados into wedges and pile in the center of a large platter. Seed and wedge tomatoes and arrange around the avocados. Arrange sliced onion over platter and sprinkle all with cilantro. Squeeze the juice of 2 limes evenly over vegetables. Season with coarse salt, drizzle with oil, and serve.

Rachael Ray 30-Minute Meals 2Yield: 4 servings

From Rachael Ray’s 30-minute Meals 2

Katie: I’ll start with a couple of notes. I halved the recipe, and we had more than we thought was two servings. I don’t like the onions sliced so that then I have to cut them up on my plate, so I chopped them. Also, I love the way I learned to cut avocados and so I thought I would share here. Cut around the pit with a sharp knife all the way around the avocado and then twist so that half pops off the pit. Remove the pit from the other half by lodging the knife in the pit carefully and then twisting that half away from the pit. Discard pit from the knife carefully. Then take a table knife (not sharp) and cut through the flesh of the avocado to the skin in the size you want the pieces to be. After cutting, take a spoon and scoop out of the skin. You’ll get already cut pieces so you don’t have to try to manipulate slippery avocado much! I think of this dish as deconstructed guacamole. It is easier to make than guacamole, and tastes delicious! I think I’ll make this again as long as I have more people to eat it since avocados never keep well. Enjoy!

Gray:  This was beautiful and delicious.  Like Katie said, it is basically a deconstructed guacamole.  I thought it was a great twist and it went well with our steaks and cornbread.  This entire meal was outstanding and I would highly recommend you give it try.

This entry was posted in Side Dishes, Veggies, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

