Shrimp with Fresh Tomato Sauce

shrimp with tomato sauce

  • 1 pound uncooked large shrimp
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 4 vine-ripened tomatoes, coarsely chopped
  • 2 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp coarsely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  1. Shell and devein shrimps, leaving tails intact.
  2. Heat oil in a large skillet; cook garlic until lightly browned. Add tomato; cook, uncovered, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. Add shrimp and vinegar; cook until shrimp change color. Stir in parsley.
  3. Serve with crusty bread.

Yield: 6 servings

TapasFrom Tapas, by Sterling Publishing

Gray: This was tasty, but it was messy to eat.   However as a tapas type of dish, or small appetizer, it might be fine.  We made it as an entree instead of as a small plate and so that affected our experience somewhat.  I thought it had a good flavor and was easy to make.  I hope you enjoy it!

Katie: This was a good recipe, but not something I think I would like to make over and over again. The sauce was a little thin for my preference, and I thought the shrimp were hard to eat with the tails on them. It makes a saucy appetizer, and I do not like to pick my shrimp up and have to pick the tails off, getting my fingers all messy. If the shrimp weren’t so messy to start with, it wouldn’t bother me. But you may feel differently! I definitely think the recipe is worth a shot if you like shrimp. We decided to eat it with focaccia bread, which was wonderful to soak up the tomato juice/sauce. If you give it a try, let us know how you liked it!

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Main Dishes, Seafood, Side Dishes, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

