Easy Party Punch

Party Punch

  • 1 12-oz can frozen citrus blend juice concentrate, thawed
  • 1 12-oz can frozen berry blend juice concentrate, thawed
  • 2 2-liter bottles ginger ale, chilled
  • ice cubes or ice ring

New Better Homes and Gardens CookbookIn large punch bowl, combine concentrates. Add ginger ale and ice. If desired, garnish with orange slices and fresh strawberries.

From The New Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook

Katie: We went to a dinner party at a friend’s house, and I thought that the perfect thing to take would be some punch. But, I didn’t know how to make punch. Well, the Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook didn’t let me down! This was super easy to make, the biggest problem being that my punch bowl isn’t big enough. Punch GlassI don’t have a dedicated punch bowl, but rather one of those cake stands that can be flipped around into a punch bowl. I was able to make about half of the recipe at a time. I also wanted to make a ice ring, and I used my pound cake pan. For a punch bowl the size of mine, something smaller would really be better, but it still served its purpose of keeping the punch cold without watering it down. I made a punch ring with ginger ale, and I placed orange slices and strawberries in it. I also had fresh orange slices and strawberries to garnish when serving.

Gray: This was tasty and the ice ring was very pretty.  It would have worked better if the bowl was a little large, or maybe an ice ball would have been better for the size bowl, but in any case looked nice and served its purpose well.  I think that punch is an under-rated treat in this day of bottled soda pop and booze.  It is a fun social drink that we ought to see at parties more often.  If you have thoughts on it, let us know if the comments.  Enjoy!
Punch Ice Ring

This entry was posted in Beverages, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

