Bill Neal’s Buttermilk Pie

Buttermilk Pie

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 1/3 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 3 Tbsp flour
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • salt
  • 1 recipe pie pastry for 8 ounces of dough, partially baked (last week’s recipe)

Preheat oven to 325°F. Cream the butter and sugar well and add the egg yolks, one by one. Beat in flour and buttermilk and add the lemon juice and nutmeg with a pinch of salt. Beat the egg whites until stiff and fold into the filling. Pour the filling into the partially baked pie pastry and cook in the middle level of the preheated oven until the the custard is set and slightly brown, about 1 hour. Serve topped with fresh fruit such as peaches, strawberries, or blueberries and slightly sweetened whipped cream. Fresh fruit sauces are also excellent with this.

Bill Neal's Southern CookingYield: 6-8 servings

From: Bill Neal’s Southern Cooking by Bill Neal

Gray: This turned out great, I was a little surprised at how it baked up, but it was delicious and it was a different type of pie to try.  I struggled a bit with this one.  I had read the recipe through, but when I was baking it, I missed the part about separating the eggs. I got to the instructions and I added the egg yolks, while ceremoniously dumping the whites. Then I got  a few more pages in and realized that I would have to crack some more eggs. I was a little frustrated with myself, but I didn’t let it get me down.  I whipped up the whites and folded them into the pie filling well, and the results were delicious.  I hope you enjoy it!

Katie: Here’s the delicious filling for the pastry crust we shared last week! I didn’t know what buttermilk pie would taste like, but it was wonderful. It has a hint of the sourness of buttermilk, but not too much. The sugar sweetens it just enough without being cloyingly sweet. We didn’t have any fruit or fruit sauce to go on our pie, and I think that would have made it even better. Next time we’ll have to try that. Let us know how your version turns out if you give this a try!

This entry was posted in Desserts, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

