Weight Watchers Banana Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins

Weight Watchers Banana Muffins

  • 1 cup light, artificially sweetened vanilla yogurt
  • 1/2 cup fat-free milk
  • 1/2 cup uncooked quick oats
  • 1/2 t vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 large banana, mashed
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unpacked brown sugar
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips, divided

Preheat oven to 375°F. Coat 36 mini muffin holes with cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, combine yogurt, milk, oats, vanilla extract, and egg. Set aside 5 minutes for oats to soften and then stir in banana.

In a separate bowl, stir together flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir flour mixture into yogurt mixture to moisten ingredients (do not beat – the batter will be very thick). Reserve 1 T chips; stir in remaining chips.

Spoon batter by heaping tablespoons into prepared muffin holes; sprinkle each with a few reserved chocolate chips. Bake until golden brown and a tester inserted in center of a muffin comes out clean, 15-18 minutes.

Yield: 36 mini muffins

Serving: 1 mini muffin, 1 Weight Watchers Point

From: Weight Watchers Weekly

Katie: I’ve been on a weight loss path since last April, and am slowly losing weight. This week we wanted to share a recipe I made from the weekly that is handed out at the Weight Watchers meeting each week. Bananas are my favorite fruit and I love banana muffins. I wanted to try this, but without the chocolate chips. They were easy to make, and with the yogurt, oats, and bananas, are actually quite filling. They were best hot from the oven, but were still great the next day. I didn’t try freezing them as there weren’t any left after sharing with my local meeting. We hope you enjoy!

Gray: I thought these were tasty and very hearty.  I think they needed the extra sweetness that would have come from the chocolate chips.  They were good but not my favorites.  That being said I think they are a lot better for you than other options, and I would definitely eat them again.

This entry was posted in Breads, Breakfast/Brunch, Weekly Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment